Big Carp | Martin Weatherley
23987
page,page-id-23987,page-template-default,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-6.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.3.4,vc_responsive

Martin Weatherley

Facebook

Living by the coast, a lot of my early years was spent sea fishing. I was lucky enough that my family owned a fishing boat, so we spent some great days out at sea and had some fantastic catches, including many double figure cod.

I started fishing sea matches, which gave me a taste of the buzz to be had at likewise events.

But it was not long before the freshwater scene started to attract me and I spent a few years doing general coarse fishing.I had some lovely tench and bream in that time. One day I hooked into a 14.12 carp and that was the start of the bigger fish hunt. 

I progressed onto carp fishing and spent some happy years fishing places like Fordwich, Stour Lake ,Swan Lake, Loggies Lake and the lovely Chilham Mill. 

I also enjoy my yearly French trip in search of those big french carp and have been fortunate enough to land a 69.12 and 71.02 common, amongst loads of other memorable catches.

I still like to pleasure fish for carp but a lot of my time now is spent on carp matches, whether it’s the BCAC, Four Season Carp Cup or a nice friendly charity match.

I’ve enjoyed some good wins in the matches, including the Four Seasons Carp Cup and the BCAC Sandhurst qualifier. These are among many other wins which makes you become more addicted to the sport.I have met some very friendly people which makes fishing (the competitions) even more enjoyable. 

Martin Weatherley profile 2

I have 2 dogs one is a Border terrier named Boris and I have a jack russell cross named Georgie who comes with me on my fishing adventures.

I’m 47, I live in Ramsgate and I work as an Engineer. I’ve been carp fishing for 10 years.

UK PB: 39.08 common;  Overseas PB: 71.02

Favourite Venue/ Venue Type: Chilham mill & Favourite Method/ Methods: Solid bags

Most memorable fishing moment: winning four seasons carp cup/ Bcac qualifier sandhurst 

Angling Influences: my dad ;  Favourite Music: 80s music

Other Interests: Golf Football Squash

.